You must complete a total of 14 hours of continuing education by 5/31/2020 to renew your Pennsylvania license.
- If you were originally licensed before December 1, 2017: the PA Real Estate Commission has mandated a Required Course for the the 2018-2020 period. At least 1.5 hours of the required 14 hours must be in the topic of Property Management as a real estate licensee and at least 2 hours must be in the topic of Advertising. You may take elective CE courses or a broker course to complete the remainder of your course work.
- If you were originally licensed after December 1, 2017, you need to complete the 14 hours of "new licensee" continuing education (General Module and Residential Module).
The PA Real Estate Commission requires all salespersons taking continuing education for the first time ("New Licensees") to complete the 7-Hour General Module ("The Big Picture") as well as your choice of either the 7-Hour Residential Module ("Gaining Insight of the Residential Market") or a 7-Hour Commercial Module. Other CE and Broker Classes will not satisfy the CE commitment for new real estate licensees for May 2020.
Any Salesperson licensed on or after December 1, 2019 is NOT required to take continuing education prior to renewing their license by May 31, 2020. For the subsequent renewal period, you will need to follow the guidelines for completing continuing education for the first time.
The Reactivation Application is available on the PA Real Estate Commission website here. Click the link 'Reactivation of a License with a Non-Current Expiration Date'
Criminal background checks can be completed online at Pennsylvania Access to Criminal History. Under the section titled: Credit Card Users, click on the link: Submit a New Record Check. Once completed, background checks are valid for 90 days.
New Jersey brokers, broker-salespersons or salespersons, in order to qualify for renewal or to reinstate an unrenewed license, must complete 12 hours of CE by April 30, 2017, which avoids the NJ administrative penalty. At least six of the twelve credits must be obtained in courses within the "core topics." The six shall include at least 2 credit hours on ethics. The remainder can be electives. You do not need to take CE if you became licensed within the second year of the licensing term.
If you are licensed in New Jersey and Pennsylvania, contact us about an online CE package that will satisfy both states (NJ in 2019 and PA in 2020).
A PA real estate license may only remain inactive for a five-year period from the date the license expired or was placed on inactive status, whichever is sooner. After the five-year period, a license may only be reactivated once the licensee passes both portions of the real estate examination. Therefore, continuing education is NOT required. In order to retake the examinations, you must receive a Certificate of Exam Eligibility from the Commission. To obtain this Certificate, complete the Request Form: 'Reactivation of Standard License that Has Been Inactive or Expired for More than Five Years'. Click here for procedure and required certificate request form.