Pennsylvania – CE Required for Renewal:
Brokers and Salespersons must complete a total of 14 hours of continuing education by 5/31/20 to renew their real estate license.
The PA Real Estate Commission has mandated a Required Course for the the 2018-2020 period. At least 1.5 hours of the required 14 hours must be in the topic of Property Management as a real estate licensee and at least 2 hours must be in the topic of Advertising. If you were originally licensed before December 1, 2017, you may take elective CE courses or a broker course to complete the remainder of your course work.
*Are you a New Licensee (originally licensed after December 1, 2017)? The PA Real Estate Commission requires all salespersons taking continuing education for the first time to complete the 7-Hour General Module (“The Big Picture”) as well as your choice of either the 7-Hour Residential Module (“Gaining Insight of the Residential Market”) or a 7-Hour Commercial Module. Other CE and Broker Classes will not satisfy the CE commitment for new real estate licensees for May 2020.
New Jersey – CE Required for Renewal:
Brokers, broker-salespersons or salespersons, in order to qualify for renewal or to reinstate an unrenewed license, must complete 12 hours of CE by April 30, 2019, which avoids the NJ administrative penalty. At least six of the twelve credits must be obtained in courses within the “core topics.” The six shall include at least 2 credit hours on ethics. The remainder can be electives. You do not need to take CE if you became licensed within the second year of the licensing term.