A person wishing to acquire a Pennsylvania real estate license must:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be a high school graduate or equivalent
- Complete 75 hours of real estate education: Real Estate Fundamentals (30 hours) and Real Estate Practice (45 hours). Acquiring the educational credits is mandatory before taking the exam.
- Successfully complete the State Licensing Examination. After passing the Exam, you may wait up to three years before activating the license. Failure to do so within three years would mean that the prospective licensee must re-take the Exam.
- Activate the license by submitting to the Real Estate Commission, a Salesperson Standard Initial License Application and a Criminal Background Check. At this time, a sponsoring broker is required for issuance of the salesperson's license.
The 2 basic courses are Real Estate Fundamentals (30 hours) and Real Estate Practice (45 hours). Fundamentals provides the student with a basic foundation for additional study and supports the practice of real estate in Pennsylvania. The course is designed to acquaint the student with the language, principles and laws that govern the business of real estate. Practice provides the student with an introduction to all facets of the real estate business, including a survey of fields of specialization. The course is designed to acquaint the student with the basic techniques, procedures, regulations, and ethics involved in a real estate transaction, along with a working knowledge of the forms and documents used, including the related mathematics. An official school transcript is provided after the completion of both courses.
It does not matter which of the two courses is taken first in the classroom. The student may take FUNDAMENTALS first or, instead, take PRACTICE first. A strongly motivated student is the best guarantor of a person's being well prepared to take and pass the State Licensing Exam. Those seeking to take both courses at the same time should recognize that ample study time must be provided in the student's schedule. If you are enrolled in the online pre-licensing courses, it is recommended that you complete Fundamentals before Practice.
Schlicher-Kratz offers you several options to obtain the required 75 hours:
- Four weekends: Attend class all day Saturday and Sunday from 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. for four consecutive weekends. One course is presented in the morning session and the other in the afternoon session. This is the fastest way to complete both courses.
- Two months: If the student takes the courses one at a time, two sessions per week for Fundamentals and two or three sessions per week for Practice, the course work can be completed in approximately two months. Options include: Tuesdays and Thursday mornings in Montgomeryville or Reading; evenings in Montgomeryville, Bensalem, Philadelphia or Reading.
- One month: The student may elect to take both courses in the same month by choosing to attend both the evening classes and the daytime classes. Another alternative is to attend one weekday session and one weekend session. Any combination of classes would allow the student to complete the courses in 4 weeks.
Available options vary depending on the location. Please consult the Course Schedule for class offerings for the location you prefer.
Effective 8/29/18, the PA Real Estate Commission increased the pre-licensing course requirement to 75 hours. Students who began their course work before 8/29/18 are exempt from the 75-hour requirement.
Schlicher Kratz Institute offers these courses every month throughout the year. Morning, evening and/or weekend classes are available. The schedule varies depending on the location which includes Montgomeryville, Bensalem, Philadelphia, and Reading. (Click here to view our Pre-Licensing Class Schedule).
The total cost for the 2 courses and the books is $545.00. Tuition is $195.00 for Fundamentals, $270 for Practice, plus the cost of the required textbooks. A student enrolling in both courses pays the texts and materials fee of $80.00 only once. The texts, Basic Principles of Real Estate, 12th edition and The 16 Day Real Estate Math Book, 10th edition, and the audio, The Vocabulary Words of Real Estate, are used for both FUNDAMENTALS and PRACTICE. The License Review Preparation Course is an optional, but recommended, course designed to prepare you for the State Licensing Exam. The cost for the course including the book, Pennsylvania Real Estate Exam Preparation Manual, 11th edition, and materials is $100.00. If you wish to purchase the book without taking the prep course, the fee is $45.00.
The student may register by telephone, email, fax, or mail. Tuition must be paid in full when the class begins. We accept check, cash, Visa, MasterCard, and Discover. Checks should be made payable to: Schlicher-Kratz Institute. If enrolling by:
- Telephone - you will be asked for your name, address, phone number, confirmation email address, dates for classes in which you wish to enroll and a credit card to reserve your place in the class. No charges will be made to your credit card until the first day of class, at which time, you may choose to pay by check, cash, money order, or credit card; or
- Email to the address on the application; or
- Fax - send to (215) 855-9332; or
- Mail - send your application to Schlicher-Kratz Institute, 515 Stump Road, Suite 220, North Wales, PA 19454
Before a student can receive a transcript, the student must have met all attendance (80% minimum class attendance) and examination requirements of our school. Transcripts are generally emailed within three days following the completion of both courses.
The schedule for administering the State Licensing Exam is established by the Testing Agency which holds the testing contract with the State Real Estate Commission. PSI currently holds the testing contract for Pennsylvania. The exam is offered Monday through Saturday at most locations and is administered by PSI at their locations. The cost of the exam is $49.00. The application process is reviewed and forms for registration are provided in class. (Click here for more details of Exam procedures and Test Locations)
A criminal background check is required at the time that you apply for your license with the Real Estate Commission. It is NOT required in order to take the licensing exam or register with PSI. Residents of PA may complete a criminal background check online at: Pennsylvania Access to Criminal History Click on the link: Submit a New Record Check. Once completed, background checks are valid for 90 days.
The phone number for the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission is 717-783-3658. Mailing Address: P.O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649 Physical Address: 2601 North Third Street, Harrisburg, PA 17110 Website: PA Real Estate Commission Email: RA-REALESTATE@pa.gov
If a student has paid for, and has been enrolled in, a Schlicher-Kratz Fundamentals and Practice course and,
- Fails the course, or;
- Receives an "Incomplete" for the course, or;
- Fails the Pennsylvania State Salesperson Exam;
the student may repeat the Fundamentals and Practice course at no charge if the course is repeated within six (6) months of the original class ending date. After six months, full price will be charged.
The Schlicher-Kratz Institute refund policy for pre-licensing classes shall be as follows: Tuition for accredited courses will be refunded in full, if cancellation occurs prior to the first class. For students who withdraw prior to the start of the third class meeting, tuition will be refunded on a complete pro-rata basis. No refunds will be made after the start of the third class meeting. No refund will be given for received books, tapes, CDs, other materials or the license review prep courses.
Duplicate transcripts may be obtained by request from our administrative office via mail, email or fax. Mail request to Schlicher Kratz Institute, 515 Stump Road, Suite 220, North Wales, PA 19454; Fax to 215-855-9332; or Email to firstname.lastname@example.org. Requests are usually processed within 1 business day. We can send transcripts via mail or email.
New Jersey requires a total of 75 hours of pre-licensing education. As an active real estate salesperson licensee in Pennsylvania, you may have completed a total of 60 hours* of pre-licensing education. Therefore, to obtain a New Jersey salesperson license, you must complete the following steps:
- Complete an additional 15 hours of broker pre-licensure education in Pennsylvania. View our Broker Schedule.
- Obtain a Certificate of Licensure from the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission. Requests must be made online at: www.pals.pa.gov Click on the "Verification/Certification of License" link.
- Complete a New Jersey Salesperson Waiver Application
- Submit the Waiver Application, Certificate of Licensure, transcript of the 15-hour broker course and a money order or certified check for $25.00. When the application is approved, you will be issued a Certificate of Examination Eligibility.
- Pass both portions of the New Jersey state test at the same sitting.
For more information, call the New Jersey Real Estate Commission at 609-292-8300 ext. 50137
*If you completed 75 hours of pre-licensing education an active real estate salesperson licensee in Pennsylvania, you have completed the necessary education to sit for the New Jersey state test.
As a licensed New Jersey Salesperson, you are required to pass the state portion of the Pennsylvania exam. Detailed instructions can be found on this pdf